National Firearms Act

The original National Firearms Act was enacted on June 26th, 1934 and later ammended in 1968. This act defined a number of categories of regulated firearms known as NFA or Title II firearms. These include:

  • Machine guns - any firearm which can fire more than one cartridge per trigger pull.
  • SBRs (short-barreled rifles) - any firearm with a rifled barrel shorter than 16" or an overall length under 26".
  • SBSs (short-barreled shotguns) - any firearm with a smooth-bore barrel shorter than 18" or an overall length under 26". 
  • Suppressors - any portable device designed to muffle or disguise the report of a portal firearm.
  • DDs (destructive devices) - devices such as grenades, bombs, explosive missiles, poison gass weapons, or any firearm (other than 12 gauge shotguns) with a bore larger than 0.50 inches.
  • AOWs (any other weapons) - this category of firearms includes: smooth-bore pistols, pen guns and cane guns, handguns with a forward vertical grip, and disguised firearms.

Title II Transfers


The Alpha Dog will transfer any Title II (NFA) firearm or Sound Suppressor for a $100 fee. The buyer is responsible for paying the Federal $200 tax stamp fee(s).